Our Area

The Diocese of Zululand stretches from the Tugela River in the south to the borders of Mozambique and Swaziland in the north, and inland to the Buffalo River – and consists of a rich diversity of people and parishes, the bulk of which are situated in rural areas.

The area is divided into ten archdeaconries:

  1. The Cathedral Parish of St Michael and all Angels, Eshowe (Southern)
  2. Thukela (Southern)
  3. Empangeni (South Eastern)
  4. KwaMbonambi (Eastern)
  5. KwaNobamba (Central)
  6. Nongoma (Northern)
  7. Ingwavuma (North Eastern)
  8. Vryheid (North Western)
  9. Nquthu (Western)
  10. Nkandla (South Western)

The 283 congregations are minstered to by 47 stipendiary clergy, 16 self-supporting priests and 4 deacons. There are also a number of lay ministers who ensure continual ministry in the congregations, but not every congregation in the diocese has a lay minister. Please click here to search for members of the clergy by name.

Diocesan Council
Consisting of clergy and laity elected at Regional Deanery level, as well as some directors/convenors of the various departments, the Diocesan Council is a policy making body in between sessions of the Diocesan Synod. There is also a Diocesan Trusts Board which is responsible for all properties and investments of the diocese.

Click here for more information on the various councils and commitees.

Training and Development
The Diocese has various departments responsible for training and development of both clergy and laity, namely: Christian Education (incorporating a Sunday School subcommittee), Mission and Evangelism, Christian Institute for Spirituality and Training for Ministries (incorporating Lay Ministry training, Fellowship of Vocation, and a Local Training Scheme which trains all self-supporting clergy as well as those who have offered themselves for stipendiary ministry).

Continuing Ministry Education takes the form of Clergy Schools and Post Ordination Training.



Email Marketing by VerticalResponse

Website designed and maintained by